• Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion)
Follow us:


Four New Bishops and an Archbishop have been elected for Church of Nigeria Anglican Communion.

The House of Bishops gave their nod to the election at a special Episcopal meeting at Owerri. The Bishop elects are the Venerable Dr. Stephen Ayodeji Fagbemi who until his election is the General Secretary for Church of Nigeria. He is going to succeed the Rt. Rev. Dayo Oladunjoye, Bishop of Owo diocese who will be retiring after reaching the mandatory retiring age of 70 years.

The Venerable Emmanuel Adekola, Sub-Dean of the Cathedral Church of the Advent, Abuja has been elected to succeed the Most Rev. Michael Akinyemi, Bishop of Igbomina diocese and Archbishop of the Ecclesiastical Province of Kwara.

The Venerable Dr. Emmanuel Onsachi, Dean of Bishop Crowther College of Theology, Okene was elected to take over from the Rt. Rev. Professor Ajulo, Bishop of Okene diocese who is retiring.

The Venerable Emmanuel Morris has been elected to take charge of Maiduguri diocese after the demise of the Most Rev. Mani who died recently.

The Rt. Rev. Dr. O. Adeyemi, Bishop of Kwara diocese has also been elected for a term of five years as the Archbishop of Ecclesiastical Province of Kwara. He will replace the Most Rev. Michael Akinyemi who proceeds on retirement after reaching the mandatory retiring age of 70 years.

The Consecration of the Bishop elects and the presentation of the new Archbishop will take place at the Cathedral of St. James the Great, Okebola Ibadan on Sunday, July 30, 2017 at 10:00 am.

© Copyright 2020, Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion)| By Dominion Web

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap