• Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion)
Follow us:


Three new Bishops, two Archbishops and a Dean have been elected by the Church of Nigeria, Anglican Communion.

They are the Ven. Prof. Israel Kelue Okoye for the Diocese of Ihiala. Before his election, Professor Okoye was the General Secretary for the Church of Nigeria. He succeeds the Rt. Rev. Ralph C. Okafor who is going on mandatory age retirement.

The Very Rev. B. C. Akinpelu Johnson is the Bishop-elect for Lagos Mainland. Before his election, he was the Provost of the Cathedral Church of Christ Marina, Lagos Diocese. He succeeds the Most. Rev. Prof. Adebayo Akinde due to retire soon.

Also, the former Dean of Lagos West Diocese, Venerable Abel Oluyemi Ajibodu has been elected Bishop for the Diocese of Ile-Oliji. He succeeds the Rt. Rev. Samson Adekunle who is retiring.

The Rt. Rev. Michael Olusina Fape, Bishop Diocese of Remo has been elected the new Archbishop of Lagos Province, following the retirement of the Most Rev. (Prof) Adebayo Akinde, the outgoing Archbishop.

Meanwhile, the Church of Nigeria, Anglican Communion has elected a new Dean; he is the Most Rev. Dr. Ikechi Nwosu, the incumbent Bishop of Umuahia and Archbishop of Aba Province.

The Most Rev. Christian Efobi, Bishop of Aguata Diocese has also been elected for the second term as Archbishop of the Niger Province and will be presented on Sunday, the 24th of July 2016, which has been slated for the Consecration and Installation Service of the new Bishops and Archbishops at the Archbishop Vinning Memorial Cathedral Church (AVMCC) at Ikeja in Lagos State.

© Copyright 2020, Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion)| By Dominion Web

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap