• February 6, 2017

Archbishop Vining College of Theology celebrated its centenary anniversary between Monday 23-Sunday 29 January 2017.

Highlights of the celebrations included a Holy Communion service presided over by the Most Revd Dr G. L. Lasebikan, Bishop of Ondo and Archbishop of Ondo Province at which the General Secretary of the Church of Nigeria and the immediate past Dean of the College, Dr Ayodeji Fagbemi was the preacher; an award ceremony in which many notable individuals and leaders of the church were honoured including the likes of the Archbishop of Lagos and Bishop of Remo, the Most Revd Dr Olusina Fape, the Bishop of Otukpo, Bp DK Bello and Bishop S. O Sowale, a former Chairman of the Board of Governors. Also honoured were some of the past Deans of the College such as the Ven. B.O. Adediran and the Ven. Dr Ayodeji Fagbemi.

The grand finale was the thanksgiving service on Sunday 29th in the chapel of the annunciation, in the college. The service was presided over by the Primate of the church of Nigeria, the Most Revd Nicholas D. Okoh, who also preached on the Partnership between the Holy Spirit and the children of God for the 100 years of the existence of that college. Whilst thanking God for the labours of the past heroes and CMS missionaries who started the centre in 1917, he challenged present generation to prepare for the future by living a of discipline and offering good leadership that is badly needed in the church and society.

The service was attended by many notable individuals including the Governor of Ondo State, Dr Olusegun Mimiko, the Deji of Akure Oba Aladetoyinbo and the Oloba of Oba-Ile, Oba Joseph Agunbiade. Many old students and bishops were in attendance.  It would be recalled that the Akure Training Centre was established by the CMS Missionaries led by Miss Boyton in 1917 to train girls to become good and responsible housewives. It later became a leadership centre for training catechists and church leaders before it grew into a theological institution of the Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion) that now awards degrees in theology.

Post Comment

Podcast Series for the week