45th Inauguration Anniversary: Archbishop Akinola, Okoh, Ademowo, and 22 Others Honoured By the Church of Nigeria

  • Korede Akintunde
  • February 8, 2024

To commemorate the 45th Anniversary of the Church of Nigeria [Anglican Communion] being inaugurated as an autonomous Province, the Church of Nigeria presented the prestigious Award for Excellence in Faithfulness in Kingdom Service to 25 personalities.

The Primate noted that this event marks the anniversary of the Province of the Church of Nigeria, celebrated on February 6, 2024.

The recipients of the award are as follows:


  1. The Most Rev’d Dr. Peter Jasper Akinola, CON – Former Primate
  2. The Most Rev’d Dr. Nicholas Dikeriehi Okoh – Former Primate
  3. The Most Rev’d Timothy Olufosoye, OON – Former Primate (Post Humous)
  4. The Most Rev’d Jospeh Abiodun Adetiloye – Former Primate (Post Humous)
  5. The Most Rev’d Dr. Ephraim Ademowo, OON – Former Bishop of Lagos
  6. The Most Rev’d J. A. Onyemelukwe – Former Bishop on the Niger (Post Humous)
  7. The Rt. Rev’d Emmanuel Gbonigi – Former Bishop of Akure
  8. The Rt. Rev’d Gideon Olajide – Former Bishop of Ibadan
  9. Rt. Rev’d (Lt.) Titus E. Ogbonyomi – Former Bishop of Kaduna (Post Humous)
  10. Erungun-Jin-Mi Henry Johnson – CMS Missionary to West Africa (Post Humous)
  11. Bishop Samuel Ajayi Crowther – First African Anglican Bishop (Post Humous)
  12. Deaconess Sussan Essan – Diocese of Jos
  13. Evang. Mrs. Maidoki – Diocese of Maiduguri
  14. Chief Folu Olamiti – Diocese of Abuja
  15. Very Rev’d Dr. Ifechukwu Ibeme – Diocese of Maiduguri
  16. Mr. Bode Adediji – Diocese of Osun
  17. Chief Timothy Atoyebi Adesoye – Diocese of Osun
  18. Otunba (Dr.) Matthew Oyin Jolayemi, OFR – Diocese of Igbomina West
  19. Professor Olugbemiro Jegede – Diocese of Ogorimagongo
  20. Ven. Franklin Inomo Dienye – Diocese of Niger Delta
  21. Air Cdr. Prof. Philemon Afume Agashua – Diocese of Gboko (Post Humous)
  22. Barr. (Dr.) Abraham Ndana. Yisa, MON – Former Registrar, Church of Nigeria
  23. Hon. Justice Dr. Babasola Ogunade – Former Chairman, House of Laity, CoN

The Primate appreciated the awardees for their enduring legacies in God’s service in the Church and the Society. He noted that some of the awards are Posthumous, noting that the memory of the Righteous shall be blessed. He also thanked the selection team ably led by the former dean of the Church of Nigeria, The Most Rev’d Dr. Ali Buba Lamido for their diligence in the selection processes.

Archbishop Ndukuba emphasized that the next 45 years have begun already and that the word of God will be taught powerfully, the Gospel will be administered rightly and the Church shall continue to grow both spiritually and numerically as the Church holds forth Eternal Hope in the Risen and Exalted Lord, Jesus Christ.

We thank the Chairman of the anniversary committee, The Most Rev’d Dr. Blessing Enyindah who is the current dean of the Church of Nigeria, for the excellent program they planned and executed, the Primate added.

Podcast Series for the week