Primate Ndukuba Dissolves PCC, Executive of Groups, Suspends Some Members of a Church in Rivers State, Appoints Caretaker Committee

  • October 29, 2022

The Primate of the Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion), His Grace, the Most Rev’d Dr. Henry C. Ndukuba, has approved the dissolution of the Parish Church Council of St Matthew’s Anglican Church, Nkporgu, Port Harcourt, Rivers State, as well as the Executive Committee of all ministry groups, including some members of the church, with immediate effect.

This is as contained in a letter made available to ACNNTV News and signed by the General Secretary, Church of Nigeria. Venerable Dr. Paul Dajur.

According to the letter, the dissolution and disbandment of the Parish Church Council, Executive Committee of the Christian Men’s Fellowship (CMF), Anglican Youth Fellowship (AYF), Lay Readers, and Women Fellowship is with immediate effect.

Members suspended from St Matthew’s Anglican Church, Nkporgu, Port Harcourt, Rivers State are;

  1. Victor Amachree
  2. Esther Atinuke Osunlaja (Mrs)
  3. Alex Mbonu
  4. Chimere Nwoji
  5. Justus Dike
  6. Sunny Ohimai
  7. Lucky Gogo
  8. Adesesan Omitayo
  9. Daniel Chielozie
  10. Chiemele Amachree
  11. Oje Uduaghele
  12. Ifeanyi Iwuanyanwu (Mrs)
  13. Francis Abanobi
  14. Kingsley Onyekosor
  15. Samuel Adeyemi
  16. Mike Ogbenejewe

This action according to the primate became necessary due to the disregard for the authority of the Church Leadership by disobeying directives and instigating disaffection among the Church members. This misdemeanor is contrary to the Constitution and Canons of the Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion) 2020 and the polity of the Anglican Church which is episcopally led and synodically governed. Adding that the dissolution and suspension subsist until due Constitutional matters are put in place in the leadership and operations of the Church.

The Primate noted that the reconciliation efforts setup was being thwarted by some of these members making it impossible to maintain peace in the church even with his direct supervision through the Primatial chaplaincy put in place.

It was noted that some of the members of the church disgraced the representatives of the Primate who visited the church last week Sunday for reconciliation prompting this move.

Hence, all Church properties and documents in their possession should be promptly handed over to the Caretaker Committee.

Meanwhile, a new caretaker committee of St. Matthew’s Anglican Church, Nkporgu, Port Harcourt, Rivers State, have been appointed by the Primate of the Church of Nigeria with immediate effect.

The newly appointed caretaker committee of St. Matthew’s Anglican Church, Primatial Chaplaincy, Nkporgu are;

  1. The Ven. Prof. Onyinye Okpala – Vicar/Chairman
  2. Sir Godson Anyiwo
  3. Eze Wordu
  4. Barr T D Jamaica
  5. Prince Odum
  6. Osima Ikiriko
  7. Oge Mbachu
  8. Bridgeth Hart
  9. Priscillia Kiri
  10. Chief Okey Abbey
  11. Barr Chidi Dikeocha – Secretary

The Primate charged them to serve God in this new capacity with sound mind to bring peace unto St. Matthew’s Anglican Church Nkporgu.

Podcast Series for the week