• June 6, 2018

The Primate of All Nigeria, the Most Rev’d Dr. Nicholas D. Okoh, assisted by Archbishops and Bishops of the Church of Nigeria, Anglican Communion consecrated four bishops for four different Dioceses in the Church of Nigeria, on Sunday, June 3, 2018 at the All Saints Cathedral, Onitsha, Anambra State in the Ecclesiastical Province of the Niger.

The consecrated Bishops were:

  1. The Rt Rev’d Godwin Anyigor Awoke as the Bishop of Ngbo Diocese.
  2. The Rt Rev’d Wisdom Budu Ihunwo as the Bishop of Niger Delta North Diocese.  He remains the Successor Bishop until the incumbent Bishop of Niger Delta North, the Most Rev’d Ignatius C. O. Kattey whose retirement is around the corner retires.
  3. The Rt Rev’d Dr. Solomon Olusola Akanbi as the Bishop of Offa Diocese. He is taking over from the Rt Rev’d Akintunde Popoola who has been translated to Ibadan South Diocese.
  4. The Rt Rev’d Prosper Afam Amah as the Bishop of Ogbaru Diocese. He is taking over from the Rt Rev’d Samuel Ezeofor who was translated and enthroned as the Bishop of Aguata Diocese.

These fathers in God who were serving the Church faithfully as priests in the different Dioceses of the Church of Nigeria, Anglican Communion, were elected as Bishops-elect during the Episcopal Synod of the Church of Nigeria, Anglican Communion, which held at St. Matthew’s Cathedral, Benin City, Edo State on Tuesday 3rd April 2018 under the control of the Holy Spirit and the presidency of the Primate of All Nigeria, the Most Rev’d Dr Nicholas D. Okoh. At this same Episcopal Synod, the Rt. Rev’d Tunde Adeleye, Bishop of Calabar was elected as the Archbishop of Niger Delta Province. The Archbishop-elect will be presented at a later date.

These consecrated Bishops will be enthroned in their different Cathedrals of their Dioceses at appropriate chosen dates.

The Episcopal House in Abuja: the Secretariat of the Church of Nigeria enjoins the faithful to pray for these servants of the Most High God, that the grace of God that called them to this office of ministry in His Church will prosper them in all ramifications as they serve Him and His Church.

Congratulations to our fathers in God, Bishops Godwin, Wisdom, Solomon, and Prosper.


The Venerable Gershinen Paul Dajur, PhD

General Secretary, Church of Nigeria


Post Comment

Podcast Series for the week